Posted by: nflanders | January 8, 2008

Atheists, Devil Worshippers, Same Dif

In the course of my job, I often come across some bizarre things on the internet. The other day, I pointed out one of these sites to a co-worker. It was one of those crazy Google Groups that tried to draw parallels from the Books of Daniel and Revelation to the European Union. You know, because Gog and Magog will totally be the UN and EU troops when they invade America. Stock up on your Militia Money!

Anyway, my co-worker humored me, and then mentioned that she had seen a show featuring devil worshippers on the local public access channel. I thought this was unlikely but I said I’d definitely try to TiVo that. I asked her what time it was on and after a couple minutes of Googling she said, “Oh, I guess it was this,” and showed me the Atheist Viewpoint website.

Now, they’re not exactly winning me over with the cheesy atom logo (it looks like it belongs to the Springfield Isotopes), and I don’t think I should have to pay $35 a year to believe in nothing, but still it would be nice to have a viable Presidential candidate that declared an absence of faith. Are Atheists really that easily conflated with Satanists in the popular imagination?

For starters, I think we need a new logo.

(Technical note: I have turned off the comment moderation; I don’t know how I didn’t notice that was on. Sorry!)

Responses

  1. What’s the cause we could get atheists to rally ’round? It’s not like there’s some god you can guilt them into obeying in the name of. I would think I-don’t-heart-Huckabee’s notion of taking back the US fer jeezus would make atheists, agnostics, and mildly religious people quite alarmed. But apparently we’ve become inured to the effects of the blatant jesus worship and rapture-bringin’ because of all the rated-G movies we were raised on. Or something.

    Oh well, I dig anarchy more anyhow. “Springfield Isotopes” made me giggle…cuz you’re right. 🙂

  2. Yes, maybe the anarchist “A” would be cooler. Something graffittable.

    I like to think of myself as an average American, but I just can’t relate to those voters who pick “shares my religious values” as the most important Presidential criterion. Aren’t we picking a President, not a Pope? Bizarre.

    Maybe I need to go to a Evangelical day camp, because I just don’t get it.

  3. mm.. strange )

  4. It’s not that Agnostics acknowledge there’s a greater power, you’re mistaken in that because the key issue with Agnostics is that they acknowledge there “could be” and there so could not be, and it’s not that they don’t “look in to it more”, it’s more like they (we, as I am proudly Agnostic) have tried to believe in religion but it just doesn’t make sense. I think it’s very safe to say that many Agnostics end up even if way, way in the future, being Atheists.


Leave a Reply

Categories

